Complete and attended our first car show

Well after two years and 2 weeks from the date I placed the order for the cobra it is done. It will never truly be done because I will always tweak it, but for now, its done.

This has been an incredible adventure, one I would do over in a heart beat. So many people helped, supported and encouraged, so thank you!

WP_20150615_14_13_42_ProThis is the first picture I took of the car on the road.

This weekend was the Seaside Cruisers car show in Qualicum. Tony and I drove up on Friday, he was in my regular car and I was in the Cobra. The car worked perfectly and we got there in good time. I have to admit I was quite apprehensive about it, but it was excellent.

The car show has about 600 cars. Friday night was a car cruise around Parksville and Qualicum. It was like a parade because there were hundreds of people lining the streets, cheering and taking pictures.

Sunday was the show and shine. About 25,000 people attended apparently. I think half of them took pictures of the car. There was always people standing around, asking questions, taking pictures.

Seaside Cruisers 2015

Seaside Cruisers 2015

25,000 people on a hot sunny day

25,000 people on a hot sunny day

I also got to meet some great people. Some that have helped me along the way with questions on car forums and some that are islanders that are currently building a car, or wanting to build a Factory Five Cobra.

Coming home we drove down with a friend who also has a cobra, in fact the one that inspired me to actually purchase mine. Both cars worked flawlessly and we had a great drive in the sunshine. Lots of looks from people, honking and thumbs up.

We took lots of gopro footage and pictures, so will get some of that together and upload it in a week or two. Here are a few pictures in the driveway.

IMGP3153

IMGP3156

IMGP3157

IMGP3160

IMGP3161

IMGP3163

IMGP3165

IMGP3166

IMGP3169

IMGP3170

IMGP3172

3 thoughts on “Complete and attended our first car show

  1. Nice ride Clyde.

    Congratulations it looks great.

    Best regards,

    Wayne Feyer
    Senior Corporate Account Manager
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
    (604) 761-7000
    wayne.feyer@citrix.com

    [Description: Description: Citrix Systems, Inc.]
    Work Better. Live Better.

  2. Hey Rob car looks fantastic!!!!!! I’m in Victoria also. I’ve followed your build and rear your blog over and over. I hope to build myself a cobra in a couple years. I was at the car show a had a good look around your car but didn’t even realize it was yours otherwise I would of asked a few questions. Oh well it was great to see it anyway. Thanks for sharing such great info on this blog
    Dave

Leave a comment